Nepal Visa Information

A visa is required to enter Nepal which can be issued at the Nepali embassy or Consulate or at the airport upon arrival.

Foreigners who intend to visit Nepal must hold valid passport or any travel document equivalent to passport issued by the govt. for visiting foreign country prior to applying for the visa. No foreigner is entitled to enter into or stay in the Kingdom of Nepal without valid visa. Tourist entry visa can be obtained for the following duration from Nepali embassy or consulate or other mission offices or immigration offices located on entry points in Nepal.

Chinese citizen are requested to apply in the Nepali embassy or other Nepali diplomatic missions as there is no provisions of on arrival visa for them.

Foreigners who indent to visit Nepal can get multiple entry visa for 15 days from the date of entry for US$25 or equivalent convertible foreign currency and multiple entries for 30 days US$ 40.00 or equivalent convertible foreign or Nepali currency and multiple entry visa for 90 days from the date of entry US$100. A tourist visa can be extended up to 120 days from the Department of Immigration in Kathmandu and Pokhara Immigration Office on request. The additional 30 days can be extended from the Department of Immigration on reasonable ground, which ensures ones departure from the country within 150 days in one visa year.

Tourist Visa can be extended by paying US $ 2 or equivalent Nepalese currency per day. Likewise, Multiple Entry facility can be obtained only for the extension period by additional US $ 20 and visa fee for the extended period. Similarly, tourists can renew their visa by paying Nepali currency equivalent to US $ 3 on the regular visa extension fee.

Transit visa
A Transit visa can be obtained from the Airport Immigration Office for a period of 48 hours on presentation of confirmed air ticket.


Tourist entry visas can be obtained from Nepal Embassy/ Consulate or Mission offices abroad, or at the following immigration offices in Nepal:

  • Tribhuvan International Airport, Kathmandu
  • Kakarvitta, Jhapa (Eastern Nepal)
  • Birganj, Parsa (Central Nepal)
  • Kodari, Sindhupalchowk (Northern Border)
  • Belhiya, Bhairahawa (Rupandehi, Western Nepal)
  • Jamuna, Nepalgunj (Banke, Mid Western Nepal)
  • Mohana, Dhangadhi (Kailali, Far Western Nepal)
  • Gaddachauki, Mahendranagar (Kanchanpur, Far Western Nepal